char – inside

All the trans news that fits! (and some that never will)

Try harder . . . at what?

In my blog on Saturday, August 15, I published a list of seventeen trans and gender queer people who had been violently killed by the hands of another person. For some reason, I had left Kandis Capri’s name off the list. I don’t know how that happened, and I am deeply sorry for the omission.

Almost all of those killed are Trans People of Color and the majority are in their early 20’s or in their teens. At the end of the blog I urged myself to try harder and I pleaded with my readers to try harder.

Two days later, on Monday, August 17, I was in the classroom explaining to my students at a local community college how they can pull their reports together for their final grade. They work so hard, trying to improve their lives and their communities. They are single parents, veterans, and recovering addicts. Some of them live blocks away from my apartment in Bay City, others live in Saginaw. Both cities are buckling under the crushing weight of rusted factories and crumbling houses, prejudice and discrimination.

Try harder, I tell them. What choice do you have?

And they do try harder, and they always know what that means because my class has a clearly defined process and a goal that is obvious. We are in a confined space focused on a single objective and my students know what it means to get the job done. When they look at me, they see Professor Char Davenport, who received the Pioneer for Women award.

When I got home that night, I received the heartbreaking news that in Kansas City, Tamara Dominguez, 36, was hit by a truck early on the morning of Saturday, August 15, and to make sure they could be the biggest asshole in America at that moment, the driver of the truck ran Tamara over again, and then again . . . and again and again.

And I want to tell you right now that I hate that truck driver. And, when you have hate in your heart, it is very hard to grieve, and I really need to grieve.

The list now includes 19 names, and it is only August.

Nineteen names and once again, I am afraid that I am going to wake up to bad news.

Mercedes Williamson, 17, in Rocky Creek, AL

London Kiki Chanel, 21, in Philadelphia, PA

Kristina Gomez Reinwald, 46, in Miami, FL

Penny Proud, 21, in New Orleans, LA

Taja DeJesus, 36, in San Francisco, CA

Yazmin Vash Payne, 33, in Los Angeles, CA

Papi Edwards, 20, in Louisville, KY

Ty Underwood, 24, in North Tyler, TX

Lamia Beard, 30, in Norfolk, VA

India Clarke, 25, in Tampa, FL

  1. Haggard, 66, in Fresno, CA

Bri Golec, 22, of Akron, OH

Amber Monroe, 20, in Detroit, MI

Angel Elisha Maurice Walker, 20, Rowan County, NC

Shade Schuler, 22, Dallas, TX

Ashton O’Hara, 25, Detroit, MI

Mya Hall, 26, Baltimore, MD

Kandis Capri, 35, Phoenix, AZ

Tamara Dominguez, 36, Kansas City, MO

A few days ago, I told my readers to try harder. I told myself to try harder.

At what?

You tell me.

Please.

Leave a Reply

