char – inside

All the trans news that fits! (and some that never will)

A Tribute to Transgender Lives Lost

This blog, from my friend Roz Keith, speaks for itself. Her presentation on February 7 was moving and informative. Thanks, Roz, for being so wonderful ~ Char

Call Him Hunter

jay ralkoJay Ralko, a young transgender man, took his life. Most knew him as the life of the party. He was fun and funny and always ready for a good time. What many never saw was the dark side. Jay suffered from bi-polar disorder. In December, he left his dog, his apartment and his friends and family without any warning. A hastily scrawled note was left for his roommate asking him to take the dog out.

Last Saturday night Jay’s friends organized an event to celebrate Jay’s life. I was asked to speak. I had never met Jay. I didn’t know his family. I had only recently met a few of his closest friends. They wanted me to speak on behalf of trans allies and share some of our story. Here are my words:

Exactly two years ago, at the age of 14, my son, who is braver than I ever…

View original post 775 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
