char – inside

All the trans news that fits! (and some that never will)

Heterosexual Trans Woman Needs a Good Lawyer — Happy Valentine’s Day!!

Hmmm . . . okay. I’m not in the UK, but I would bet that transgender teachers in the UK aren’t anymore worried about hiding their sexual orientation than I am. Read the article below (from The Independent) and you will understand what I am talking about.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/one-in-four-lgbt-teachers-feel-the-need-to-hide-their-sexual-orientation-at-schools-10032088.html?__scoop_post=0b84f490-b081-11e4-e12d-842b2b775358&__scoop_topic=663100#__scoop_post=0b84f490-b081-11e4-e12d-842b2b775358&__scoop_topic=663100

You see, I’m an out transgender teacher and I am heterosexual, although without being able to change my gender marker I guess I am kind of sort of legally technically bisexual because I am romantically attracted to heterosexual trans men and heterosexual cis men. Interestingly, according to the state of Michigan, which is where I live, I could legally marry a trans man who has not changed his gender marker because then our relationship would be considered by the state to be heterosexual in that the state considers me (a woman) to be a male and would consider him (a man) to be female. However, I could not marry a cis heterosexual male (a man) because the state considers both of us to be male. There is one obvious solution, which is the state could just change my gender marker.

However, with the apparent approval of a few million voters, Michigan’s state legislators continue to gather around our private parts, poking and prodding as deeply and with as much scrutiny as they ever have. It is into this steamy dark environment that Gary Glenn has thrust himself and I imagine that he can hardly keep from screaming out in joyous, sweaty exaltation. It is only a matter of time before he spews his venomous version of hegemonic masculinity like so many snakes onto the floor of Michigan’s legislative house . . .

Ahem . . .

Where was I?

Oh yeah . . . .

Don’t forget that Gary Glenn is the same man who, with his hands on his hips and his arms akimbo, proclaims his pride in having saved heterosexuality in Michigan by co-authoring our state’s constitutional ban on same sex marriages; the same man who repeatedly likens transgender people to child molesters and bathroom rapists. Gary Glenn might consider all of this concern over our private partsĀ as his sacred duty to ensure a trans-free heaven, but I, for one, most certainly do not appreciate it.

What I am getting at is this: After all their angry red-faced fist-pounding, many of our current elected leaders have come to the conclusion that they must not divert their attention from our private parts. Why? So they can determine who we are and who we should love and how we should express ourselves and where we can pee and poop and put on our make-up and fix our hair and where we can try on clothes before buying them and which locker room we can use and which homeless person we can feed and shelter and whether or not we can be employed and . . . .

Does any of this make sense?

It doesn’t make sense to me, either.

What scares me, though, is that I am actually considering a GoFundMe site to raise money for the lawyer I am almost certainly going to need if I decide I have had enough of this nonsense and take every available opportunity this summer to go toplessĀ in a skirt and heels. If I can’t defend my rights as a trans woman, well, by god, I’ll defend them as a cis man!

So, yeah, I’m not in the UK . . . but I am a heterosexual trans woman in the United States. I’ll get around to worrying about my sexual orientation as soon as the state quits fretting and wringing its hands over my private parts.

2 comments on “Heterosexual Trans Woman Needs a Good Lawyer — Happy Valentine’s Day!!

  1. Pingback: Heterosexual Trans Woman Needs a Good Lawyer — Pronto!! | char - inside

  2. georgiakevin
    February 14, 2015

    Your post is spot on ma’am! These politicians whose focus is on what is between our legs are hypocritical, incompetent buffoons who want to divert voters attention away from their inability to legislate. The tragic thing is that based upon the results of last November, so far they have been successful. Keep writing ma’am, you are very very good at it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2015 by in Human Rights and Civil Rights and tagged .
